# **Rewarding Entrepreneurial Spirits**

The Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation congratulates the 2009 recipients of the **Kauffman Young Scholars Program**, which recognizes scholars for their contributions to the body of literature in entrepreneurship.

## **Ewing Marion Kauffman Prize Medal for Distinguished Research in Entrepreneurship**



The Kauffman Prize Medal, which includes a \$50,000 prize, is awarded every two years to one scholar under the age of forty whose research has made a significant contribution to entrepreneurship.

Antoinette Schoar, the 2009 recipient, is the Michael M. Koerner Associate Professor of Entrepreneurial Finance at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology Sloan School of Management. An expert in corporate finance, entrepreneurship, and organizational economics, Schoar researches venture capital, entrepreneurial finance, corporate diversification, governance, and capital budgeting decisions in firms.

### Kauffman Junior Faculty Fellowship in Entrepreneurship Research

The inaugural Kauffman Junior Faculty Fellowship in Entrepreneurship Research recognizes five junior faculty members whose research will contribute to the body of literature in entrepreneurship. The \$50,000 fellowships will be awarded to each university to support the research activities of the Fellow. More information at www.kauffman.org/kjff.

#### 2009 Kauffman Junior Faculty Fellows:

Aaron K. Chatterji, Duke University
Waverly W. Ding, University of California, Berkeley
Gerson Dushnitsky, University of Pennsylvania
Jon Eckhardt, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Andrew J. Nelson, University of Oregon

### KAUFFMAN

The Foundation of Entrepreneurship

www.kauffman.org

### Kauffman Dissertation Fellowship Program

The Kauffman Dissertation Fellowship Program recognizes fifteen exceptional doctoral students and their universities. Fifteen \$20,000 fellowships will be awarded to the students to support their dissertation research in the area of entrepreneurship. Including the current class of Fellows, 93 awards have been made since the program was created in 2002. More information at www.kauffman.org/kdfp.

#### 2009 Dissertation Fellowship Recipients:

Javed I. Ahmed, University of California, Berkeley
Nachiket Bhawe, University of Minnesota
Meg Blume-Kohout, Pardee RAND Graduate School
Ian Michael Breunig, Colorado State University
Gharad Bryan, Yale University
Emily Cox, Stanford University
Martin Ganco, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Deepak Hegde, University of California, Berkeley
Shon R. Hiatt, Cornell University
Mingfeng Lin, University of Maryland
Kathleen Marker, University of California, San Diego
Jason M. O'Connor, Northwestern University
Lori Santikian, Harvard University
Edward Smith, University of Chicago
Margarita Tsoutsoura, Columbia University